The Constructor

LEED Rating System For Green Buildings and Other Building Types

Reading time: 1 minute

The LEED system is more associated with the construction of green buildings. This is not for a particular type of green building, but any type for building that is constructed to have green and sustainable performance can apply for a LEED certification.

The LEED system is Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design is found to be one of the most popular green building certification that is used worldwide.

The LEED system is developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC). The LEED rating system have a series of rating system for the design, operation, construction and the maintenance of the green buildings.

The main objective is the development of a structure that make the building owner and the operator to be environmentally responsible and utilizes the resources efficiently.

Green Buildings and LEED Rating System

The green buildings are property with higher performance that considers and diminish the impact on the environment and the society.

When analyzing the record of green buildings that are constructed all around the world, 98 % of the green buildings are certified by the LEED system.

You cannot regard a building as green even if it has followed all the design and construction criteria as that of a green building. It is regarded as green only when it is properly certified by a commercial green building rating system like LEED.

Features of LEED Rating System for Green Buildings

The LEED rating system is carried out based on points. These point values finally provide an aggregate at the final stage. All the buildings are compared based on this aggregate obtained.

The LEED system comprises a combination of well discipline practices from the area of architecture, interior design, engineering, landscaping architecture and construction.

The LEED rating system is a combination of performance standards and prescriptive standards. When considering the both aspects, the LEED system is more focused on the performance standards.

As mentioned before the LEED certification is gained based on the total points that is gained by the building. There are different levels in which the LEED certification is awarded. They are:

  1. Certified: This means that the project under the LEED evaluation have scored more than 40% of the basic points in the system.
  2. Silver: This means the project under consideration have scored more than 50% of the core points.
  3. Gold: This means the building under consideration have gained more than 60% of the core points.
  4. Platinum: This is top level, where the building project have gained more than 80%of the core points.

LEED Rating System For Different Building Types

The LEED system encompasses 10 categories of rating systems that is in the field of design, construction, homes, operation of the buildings and the neighborhoods. The 10 systems are:

1. The LEED system for Green Building Design and the Construction

This will include four categories:

a. LEED system for New Construction

b. LEED system for Core and Shell

c. LEED system for School Buildings

d. LEED system for the New construction and Renovations in a major scale

e. LEED system for Healthcare

2. The LEED system for Green Interior Design and the Construction

This will include two categories:

a. LEED system for Interior Works in Commercial Scale

b. LEED system For Retail: Interior works in Commercial Scale

3. The LEED system for Green Building Operation and Its Maintenance

This include a single category of LEED system for the Operations and the Maintenance of the Existing Building

4. The LEED system for the Green Neighborhood Development

5. The LEED system for the Green Home Design and the Construction.

Read More:

What Makes a Building Green? – Green Building Concept

Zero Energy Buildings – Features, Benefits and Materials

Cool Roof System for Buildings – Types and its Benefits

Green Walls in High Rise Buildings -Types, Features and Benefits

Exit mobile version