A general contractor’s license is one of several contractor licenses issued by the Arkansas State Licensing Board. These special licenses are needed for all types of contracting works pertaining to the construction trade category.
Obtaining a general contractor’s license in Arkansas is a complex process that includes specific eligibility criteria and numerous documents to be submitted along with the application.
This article guides you through the procedure of applying for a general contractor's license and provides instructions on how to submit your application correctly, as well as what documents have to be provided with the completed form.
- Eligibility Requirements for a General Contractor’s License in Arkansas
- Bonding and Financial Requirements
- How to Apply for a General Contractor's License in Arkansas
- Additional Requirements
- Good Luck!
Eligibility Requirements for a General Contractor’s License in Arkansas
Most contractors who apply for an Arkansas general contractor’s license are small business owners running independently of an LLC or partnership. You must meet the following requirements to apply for a general contractor’s license in Arkansas:
- Have a high school diploma or GED equivalent;
- Must be at least 18 years of age;
- You must not have had your license suspended in any state. If you have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime in which fraud or deception is an element, the board may deny your application for a residential contractor’s license;
- You must have never been convicted of a crime that would prevent you from obtaining a government license. The board will deny your application if you have been convicted of a felony within the last ten years.
The Arkansas State Licensing Board accepts applications during monthly meetings. Call (501) 682-8200 for meeting dates and locations. You can also register online at www.arplb.com.
The duration of the license is for an indefinite period. You will not have to renew your contractor's license at any time in the future as long as you do not run out of business.
Bonding and Financial Requirements
As an applicant for an Arkansas general contractor’s license, you must provide evidence of sufficient insurance and bonds to cover any damages you may cause to other people, properties, or companies. Arkansas state laws require that you have a minimum of $100,000 worth of general liability and workers' compensation insurance for your business. You are also required to sign an affidavit that states that you will stay in compliance with the state’s laws regarding general liability, workers' compensation, and other business insurance.
The Arkansas State Licensing Board may require you to post a license bond for a general contractor’s license in Arkansas that is equal to the total cost of all projects that your business will be involved in throughout the duration of the contract. In order to determine how much bonding money you should provide, you should take into account your current employment status and your annual revenue.
The Arkansas State Licensing Board will set the exact amount of your bond after checking your financial records. You may be required to provide a state-approved surety company that issues license bonds with evidence of your assets and your revenues for 10 years. These documents include certified records of bank accounts, stocks, real estate holdings, mortgages, and other types of property holdings.
How to Apply for a General Contractor's License in Arkansas
You must apply for an Arkansas general contractor’s license in person at the State Licensing Board office, located at 400 West Capitol Avenue Suite 3-500 Little Rock, AR 72201. The application process for a general contractor’s license in Arkansas consists of the following steps:
Step 1: Make an Appointment to meet with a State Licensing Board Inspector
The state licensing board will assign you an inspector who specializes in residential and commercial construction at your initial appointment. The inspector will meet with you one-on-one to discuss your application for a general contractor's license and to verify that you meet all of the eligibility requirements. You will also need to make sure that all of your documents are in order and ready for submission before requesting an appointment with a state licensing board inspector.
Step 2: Submit your License Application Form along with Required Documents
With your required documents in hand, you may submit your application form and supporting documents to the state licensing board by mail or in person during your appointment. The application form is available for download from the Arkansas State Licensing Board website, but you may receive a printed copy when you meet the inspector. You will be asked to specify on your application what type of license you wish to obtain and whether you are applying as an individual or as a member of a partnership or an LLC. You must also sign the affidavit that states that you are in compliance with all financial and bonding requirements for general contractors in Arkansas. The state licensing board will not issue your license until you have met these requirements.
Step 3: Wait for your License
The time it takes to receive your Arkansas general contractors license will depend on the workload of the state licensing board and whether or not you have included any additional information in your application. You may check your application status online at any time after submitting it.
Step 4: Receive your Arkansas General Contractors License
Once your license has been issued, the state licensing board will send it out to you by mail. You must print it out and carry it with you at all times while performing work as a general contractor in Arkansas. You are not allowed to perform any construction work unless you have your license and a photo ID with you.
Applicants who are applying as a member of a partnership or an LLC must also notarize their signature and the signatures of all other members on the application form. All partners or LLC members must be 18 years of age or older and a U.S. citizen or a legal resident in order to apply for an Arkansas general contractors license as part of a partnership or an LLC.
If you are applying for an Arkansas general contractor’s license as a member of an LLC, you must submit the information for all members in your LLC to the state licensing board. This includes both basic contact information for each member and financial and bonding documentation.
A representative of any Arkansas general contractor’s license holder who is applying for a new certificate will need to provide a notarized signature from the principals of the business. This signature will verify that the applicant is the new owner or chief executive officer of the firm.
The state licensing board may also ask you to submit additional information if your application is particularly complex or incomplete.
If you have any other questions regarding the application process for a general contractor's license in Arkansas, please do not hesitate to contact the state licensing board office with your questions. The staff at the office will be able to direct you toward further information or help you complete your application if you are having trouble.
If you're interested in getting a general contractor's license in Arkansas, then you'll be pleased to know that it's an incredibly straightforward process. As long as you can prove that you meet all of the eligibility requirements and your application is complete, there shouldn't be much trouble with either the financial or bonding documents. We wish you the best of luck in getting a general contractor’s license in Arkansas!
How To Get a General Contractor’s License in Alabama?
How to Get Professional Surveyor (PS) License in Mississippi?