The Constructor

Indian Standard Codes for Brick Work

indian standard codes for brick work

Reading time: 1 minute

Indian standard codes for brick work are a list of documents that provide general guidance on brick works. These standard codes ensure high quality of final construction products.

Generally, masonry work is carried out at site as per the specifications provided by the client as per the requirement. Important Indian standard codes for brick work are presented and discussed in the following paragraphs.

Indian Standards for Brick Work

1. IS: 1077 – 1992 (R2002)

Common burnt clay building bricks (IS: 1077 – 1992) established requirements for general quality, classification, geometry, and physical requirements of burnt clay building bricks which are used in building construction.

The type of burnt clay covered in the IS: 1077 – 1992 has a compressive strength of 40MPa or less. IS 2180: 1988 covers burnt clay bricks with compressive strength higher than 40MPa.

2. IS: 1200 (Part-III) – 1976

Methods of measurement of buildings and civil engineering works – Brick Work (IS : 1200 (Part-III) – 1976) presents method of measurement of brickwork in buildings and civil engineering works.  

It should be known that method of measurement for refractory brick work should be carried out based on the specifications of IS: 1200 (Part VI)-1974.

3. IS: 2212 – 1991

Code of practice for brick work (IS: 2212 – 1991) deals with the construction of clay brick masonry in general and the erection of clay brick walls in particular. So, the use of unburnt clay and mud mortar is not presented in this standard.

4. IS: 3495 (Part I to IV) 1992 ((R2002)

Methods of tests on burnt clay building bricks (IS: 3495 (Part I to IV) 1992) is composed of four parts. Part 1 presents method of determination of compressive strength of burnt clay building bricks. Part 2 deals with the method of determination of water absorption of burnt clay building bricks.

Part 3 covers the method of determination of efflorescence of burnt clay building bricks. Part 4 provides the method of determination of warpage of burnt clay building bricks. Finally, it is necessary to have IS 5454: 1976 (Method for sampling of clay building bricks) adjunct to IS: 3495 (Part I to IV) 1992.

5. IS: 6042 – 1969

IS: 6042 – 1969 (Code of practice for construction of lightweight concrete block masonry) deals with the construction of walls and partitions with precast light-weight concrete solid blocks conforming to IS: 3590-1966, and lime cement cinder blocks conforming to IS: 3115-19657

6. IS: 3590-1966

Load bearing light-weight concrete blocks (IS: 3590-1966) provides specification for load bearing light-weight concrete blocks with the development of light-weight aggregates from industrial wastes.

7. IS: 3466 – 1988

IS: 3466 – 1988 (Specifications for Masonry Cement) provide and describe the requirements for masonry cement that are employed for general purpose in which mortars for masonry are needed.

8. Other Standards Related to Brick Work

Other standards related to bricks are presented below:

Exit mobile version